The Spotters

11 July, 2017

Picture of the Day

I’m planning a series of  ‘how-to shoot street photography ‘ articles, and one of the areas I’ll be dealing with is being caught taking pictures of strangers.

In this case, even though I was shooting from the hip with the GRII, I was well and truly spotted while shooting this image in the rain in Middlesbrough, UK.

In a situation like that, I just keep walking. I don’t avoid eye contact with whoever has spotted me, but I don’t actively seek it either.

I find that people then can’t be sure whether I’ve photographed them or not, and hardly anyone ever bothers to come after me to ask whether I did.

 

Ricoh GRII, ISO 1600, 1/250th at f.8

2 Comments

Comment on this post

